Stored Views

Jedox View definitions can be stored on the server as a global view (accessible to all users) or as a private view (accessible only to the current user).

Note: you cannot store views on attribute cubes.

To store a view, click the Save as button in the Paste View dialog.

The buttons in the highlighted section allow you to add a new view. You can also edit, duplicate or delete the currently active view. In Jedox Web, you can also flag/unflag a stored view as default. When you open the Paste View dialog, it checks for a default stored view and selects it, if found.

The Save button is activated in existing stored views.

If you go to another stored view without saving your changes, there will popup a corresponding Save View dialog:

Note: Such a Save View dialog you can also receive without any changes on your part. In some cases, internal updates of the stored view are made that are not visible to you.

 

If you work with Excel Add-in, you can also use the following keyboard shortcuts:

Ctrl+N to add new view Ctrl+D to duplicate view Ctrl+S to save current view
F2 to edit view Del to delete view Ctrl+Shift+S to save as for current view

You can see all the global and private views of a selected cube in Modeler > Cube properties > Views. You can also flag/unflag a stored global view as default.

You can also access the Stored Views directly from the ribbon. This allows you to paste and edit them.

Jedox Web ribbon

Excel Ribbon

Any saved View will fallback to a default, such as a default read element, first root element or default subset, in scenarios such as:

  • An element used in the header or rows/columns was renamed or deleted.
  • An hierarchy was changed.
  • A stored subset in a View was renamed
  • A user with no Read rights to a certain element used in the View tries to open it.