Models that have been installed via the Jedox Marketplace can be configured and customized in various ways by users. They can modify the models reports, integrator projects and database contents like other contents present in their Jedox environment. The supported configurations and customizations are described in the articles for the specific models. It is important to consider the model lifecycle however when configuring and customizing models.
An update for a model can be provided in the Jedox Marketplace. When updates for an installed model are available, the user will be shown information about the available update in the “My Models” panel.
When the user selects to install an update for a model, the contents that were shipped with the model in the original installation will be updated. This implies that all reports, Integrator projects, tasks etc. will be overwritten with the newer version from the model update. If the user has made changes within these contents, they will be overwritten with the update, as well. The same is true for access rights that were defined on files or folders in the Model’s File / Report hierarchy.
Database contents are generally treated differently. During an update, if there are changes for database contents, they will be applied by executing database scripts, which will keep as much of the existing content as possible. For example, updates will not modify any cubes or dimensions which have been created by the user, or modify content within transactional data cubes.