Reverting Data Entries (Undo)

image_pdfimage_print

You can revert or “undo” planning actions, including splashing, with Jedox OLAP Server using either Jedox Excel Add-in and Jedox Web, but this functionality requires a bit of foresight. It is not possible to spontaneously undo a series of actions. The user must first explicitly define an area of the cube where data will be entered, known as setting a reference for undo or an undo lock. From the moment such a area is defined on a cube, other users will not be able to enter data in that cube area; however, they will be able to read data (including the user’s current changes). OLAP Server maintains an explicit history of undo locks made by the user and allows this user to undo the last action(s) step by step, revert all writeback actions since setting the undo lock, or commit the changes. Only after the user either reverts or commits will the lock will be unset, and other users will be able to enter data in the cube area again.

To be able to set a reference for undo, the user must have write access on the cube. Committing, or reverting (in other words: releasing) active undo locks is only possible for the user who defined the undo lock, or for the “admin” user or another user with “D” access on the “system operations” role rights object.

Setting a reference for undo

To enable undo, first select a cell or cell area where values from the cube are displayed (i.e. where PALO.DATA* formulas are used), then click on the ribbon icon “Set Reference for Undo” (Excel spreadsheet) or select the menu item Query→Set Reference for Undo (Jedox spreadsheet):

Setting an undo reference in Jedox Web

After setting a reference for undo, the other three commands are now active:

Undo:

Reverts the last change. You can also undo several steps in sequence.

Rollback:

Reverts all changes since setting the reference area for undo, then removes the undo lock.

Commit:

Writes all changes to the OLAP cube and then removes the undo lock.

Monitoring current undo locks

A list of current undo locks for a given cube can be viewed in the Modeler. Open the cube’s properties page, and click on the Undo Locks section:

Undo Locks in Modeler

Each entry shows the cube slice that was defined for the lock, the name of the user who created the lock, and the number of writeback actions executed since the lock was created. Additionally, it is possible to either revert or commit changes here, thus releasing the lock.

The list of undo locks is also available within a report by right-clicking on an applicable area in the report (see screenshot below). The resulting dialog also allows you to pick up a lock that was created in a previous session and subsequently undo single writeback steps from that previous session. Picking up a lock is possible regardless of whether the lock was defined in Jedox Web or Jedox Excel Add-in.

Important notes:

  • For each Excel session and for each Jedox Web session, you can only specify one undo reference at a time.
  • After you set an undo reference, it is not possible for other users to enter or change values in this area. Only after canceling  the undo reference will the area be open for entries from other users.
  • Before you quit your Excel or Jedox Web session, you should also decide to commit or to rollback all changes. Otherwise, all changes are automatically undone when the session ends.
image_pdfimage_print
Was this post helpful?
NoYes (+3 rating, 3 votes)
Loading...